2019 Predictions

While it seems that 2018 was a pretty ass-kicking year for music, 2019 is shaping up to be even better.

Here are a few tours and music releases to look forward to:

Tours:

Aesthetic Perfection’s Into the Black Tour

It goes without saying that I am a massive Aesthetic Perfection fan. I think Daniel Graves is a true talent. Since I started supporting him on Patreon, I’ve become an even bigger fan. The last time he toured through California, I missed the show because of prior commitments. This time around, I’m going to attend the LA and SF show!

I am also super excited that Aesthetic Perfection is bringing Empathy Test for their first US tour! (Empathy Test)

Within Temptation’s Resist Tour

Within Temptation has not toured the US since 2014. They are yet another band I missed the last time they visited Northern California. I am super excited to see Sharon den Adel in person. From video clips I’ve seen, she is an amazing live singer. I am also super stoked that they are bringing In Flames as their opening act.

Cradle of Filth’s Cryptoriana-The Second Coming of Vice Tour

I’ve been a Cradle of Filth fan for 15+ years. This is a band that goes all out from start to finish. Despite the many line-up changes, Dani Filth always manages to find some of the most talented musicians on the planet. With the theatrical make-up, costumes, and heavy guitar riffs, it is a show that keeps you engaged from start to finish.

On this tour, Cradle of Filth is bringing Wednesday 13. This is a band I’ve only recently begun to explore after seeing them open for Combichrist.

The Black Queen’s Infinite Games Tour

The Black Queen is set to tour the US starting in February. I had the pleasure of reviewing Infinite Games before its release. Before this, I had never heard any music from the Black Queen.

Let’s just say I was more than impressed. I am super excited to see them perform live!

Music Releases:

Aesthetic Perfection’s Into the Black

As a (super) fan of Aesthetic Perfection, I am truly excited to hear the new album. Not only because I have been supporting Daniel Graves on Patreon, but because a full album is truly a surprise. Until recently, Graves had switched from full albums to releasing singles at a rapid pace. This lead to hearing new music at a frequent pace. But Graves listened to his fans and amended his thought process to give them what they want: A full album.

On Patreon, he has been teasing supporting with glimpses at the sound of the new album. I am really impressed and excited for this album.

Within Temptation’s Resist

Within Temptation has not released a new album since 2014’s Hydra. As a fan of symphonic metal and Within Temptation, this is such exciting news! With every album, the band charts new territory and experiments in new ways.

The upcoming Resist album features duets with Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach and Anders Friden of In Flames.

Slipknot’s Untitled Album

Slipknot’s new album will be their first album in 5 years. Following the tumultuous release of .5:  The Gray Chapter which celebrated the life of late bassist Paul Gray and the departure of drummer Joey Jordison, Slipknot toured extensively. After these tours, Corey Taylor went back to his second band, Stone Sour, while the rest of the band recouped and began their writing process.

The first single “All Out of Life” is a promising track. Hopefully, Slipknot will continue to dominate the metal world and follow the trajectory set forth by “All Out of Life.”

The Hinted at Ghost EP

In several interviews, Tobias Forge has hinted that he may have already recorded the band’s next EP. With an exhausting tour schedule, grammy nominated albums, and a court case settled, it is no wonder he possibly recorded an EP while recording Prequelle. Otherwise, when would he have time to do it?

Leave a comment