DJ Phoenix and Corey Taylor: A Bromance for the New Millennium

If you follow Corey Taylor on Twitter or Instagram, you’ve probably seen him trade witty barbs with DJ Phoenix.

DJ Phoenix proclaims “[t]he infamous ‘bromance’? Haha. I’m not sure if it can be considered a bromance or not but Corey and I first connected around 7 or 8 years ago when he first followed me on Twitter. “

The definition of bromance is:
bro·mance (ˈbrōˌmans/) noun informal:  a close but nonsexual relationship between two men.

Well, that definitely seems to fit the relationship to me.  I mean, Corey Taylor doesn’t just swap sarcasm with everyone.  There is a very deep connection between Taylor and DJ Phoenix.

Corey Taylor and DJ Phoenix.
Photo Courtesy of DJ Phoenix.

“Obviously being followed by a famous musician you idolized as a teen was a big deal so I tried to play it cool instead of freaking out and honestly I still think I fanboyed out a bit haha” says DJ Phoenix.  He continues to describe the relationship saying ” [w]e just started talking about our favourite TV shows, hobbies and life in general and just became friends out of it. Him and I have similar senses of humour and we joke around a lot. It’s really a friendship that spawned out of pure random chance.” 

Being random happenstance or not, obviously building a rapport with someone you idolize has to be extremely intimidating.  “It wasn’t until years later I finally worked up the courage to ask him if he’d be willing to collaborate and when he agreed it was one of those life moments where you felt that everything you’ve worked for up to that moment came to actualization.   To be recognized by a musician you idolized and for him to acknowledge that my talents are good enough to collaborate with was and still is one of the biggest compliments I’ve received in my music career, I couldn’t feel more honoured and lucky to have the opportunity to work with him.”

Clearly, this is a bromance for the ages.  Similar dispositions, sense of humor, and attention to detail must mean there is a deep connection than meets the eye.  DJ Phoenix and Corey Taylor are very lucky to have such a symbiotic relationship.

DJ Phoenix with Stone Sour.
Photo Courtesy of DJ Phoenix.

Leave a comment